AlayaCare provides different statuses for Visits, Clients, and Services, which will impact billing, payroll, and scheduling, according to the circumstances and to settings you control. These statuses can also be useful for reporting purposes.
- Visits (and Recurrences) can be completely deleted. Individual Visits can also be put On Hold or Cancelled.
- Services can be put On Hold, or be designated as Active, Waiting List, or Discharged. Changes of Service Status can affect the Visits of the Service.
- the Client Status can be Pending, Discharged, Active, Waiting List, or On Hold. You have some control over consequences to Services and Visits in certain cases.
Deleting Visits and Recurrences
While deleted is not a status, it is available to you if you wish to eliminate all trace of a scheduled Visit. This could be because a Visit was scheduled in error and you want to eliminate the clutter of bad data in your reports, in which case cancelling might not be sufficient.
- How do I delete a Visit from the web app?
- How do I delete a Recurrence?
- How do I delete a Visit on mobile?
Cancelling a Visit
In cases where you want to keep a record of the Visit, you can cancel it instead. This could happen in any number of scenarios, for example:
- the Client is hospitalized suddenly and cannot make their appointment;
- the agency couldn't secure staff to cover the Visit;
- the Employee missed the Visit because of circumstances beyond their control;
- the Client's condition has improved and they wish to discontinue care.
A practical use for the Cancel function is that you can record the nature of a Visit cancellation with a Cancel Code, configured at the system level, which will determine whether the Visit will still be invoiced or whether the Care Worker will still receive their usual salary for it.
For example, should the Client cancel with less than 48 hours of notice, you may wish to invoice them for the Visit, but not otherwise. Or, if a Visit is cancelled due to a complaint about the Care Worker, you may wish to withhold payment.
- How do I set up/edit Cancelled Codes?
- How do I cancel/un-cancel a Visit on web?
- How do I cancel a Visit on mobile?
Putting a Visit on Hold
When a Visit is put On Hold in the schedule, it is no longer billable or payable, and Employees cannot clock into it. A Visit may be put On Hold automatically when its Service is put On Hold, or the Visit can be put On Hold independently of its Service.
If the Visit has already been billed or paid, it is up to the user to make the necessary adjustments.
The status of a Client's Services can be updated independently of each other and the Client's overall status, according to the needs of your organization.
The status of a Service will impact the Visits of the Service.
While a Service is On Hold, all Visits of the Service will also be placed On Hold for the same Reason.
When a Service is Discharged, all Visits of the Service will also be deleted as of the Effective Date (as long as they are in the future).
When updating a Client's Status, you can choose for this status change to impact some, none, or all of the Client's Services (depending on the situation). For example, you may wish to put a Client On Hold while they are on vacation but continue a specific Service in their absence, such as lawn mowing.
The Client's Status can also be reported on separately from the statuses of their Services.